Finding Balance-Nutrition for Young Adults

Image

Each year for the past three school years, I have had the honor of presenting several workshops to approximately 220+ seniors at a local high school. First let me say how much I value and respect teachers.  I am forever indebted to them and in awe of their commitment–Period!

I am excited for these seniors.  Soon they will be finished with high school; most are off to college, some right into jobs, others into military service, and all on their way to new adventures.  One thing they all have in common is that soon they will all have a lot of new responsibilities to contend with. They will also be making their own choices about what they eat and how they take care of themselves.  There will be a lot of trial and error and there will be a lot of fun and a lot of painful moments.  Friends will be left behind, separated by distance and different paths and new friends and opportunities will be in their lives.  I am genuinely excited for each and every one of them.  This is a once in a lifetime for these young adults and they will likely look back on it fondly.

Now, back to those choices on eating and self-care I mentioned earlier.  One of things I hear and see most in young adults, boils down to a simple theory of Cause and Effect.  Nutritionally speaking, if you choose to regularly to fill your body with processed or fast foods, soda, energy drinks, late night parties, little sleep and stress =Cause, you end up an exhausted, ill, stressed out, depressed individual , who is broke carrying around the “college 25” muffin top=Affect..  Or, “Fat-Sick and Nearly Dead” as my fellow IIN Alumni,  Joe Cross taught us.

I do not lecture students-period! It makes no sense; it does no good and ultimately, would not serve them in any way.  I believe it is better to empower people to consider what choices will serve them best. The healthier choices, which will serve their minds, their sense of self worth, integrity, their bodies and their wallets. I believe we should consider the effect of how the choices we make, not only show on our physical and emotional selves, but also the environment, our economic system and how we want to show up in the world.

My approach is to inform and to suggest more options. We talk Food; I. e. eating for energy and longevity, the importance of reading labels, buying fresh and in season, stretching dollars and meals in minutes.

I am asked a lot of questions and receive thoughtful responses. I leave the classroom happy and energized and full of hope that what I have shared will help them shine brightly in the world.  I can hardly wait for next year’s students!   I love these kids; they are so warm, so engaged, and so kind to me when I visit the classes each year.  It is truly a pleasure. Shine Brightly Students!!!

Lastly, I have such gratitude for Ms. West  for inviting me to her classroom each year, your student’s kindness and respect is a tribute to your teaching and their love for you!

Below are the links to the smoothie recipes we made in classes.  Did I mention it was 240 students-Whoo. My Vitamix got a workout :>)

Blueberry, Cacoa Smoothie

Apple, Orange and Basil Smoothie-

Here’s to your Health

Carol T

About Carol
Everything about My Sage Gourmet is intended to nurture and support you to thrive in every sense of the word. From the Kitchen Coaching, and my artisan kitchen blends to Nutrition Consulting, and the Tone and Sculpt Yoga and weight loss programs, My Sage Gourmet is here to support you!

As a Nutrition Consultant, I help men and women reconnect with their essential selves-the ground zero of who they are. No more putting their physical health and emotional well being on the back burner. As the mind shifts, eating becomes intuitive; movement becomes more gratifying as the body responds to the shift in perspective. Life becomes more joyful and bright!

Connect with me for a complimentary discovery session!

Leave a Reply

